December 2013 — end of year

I haven’t posted a blog since September, and here I thought that being on sabbatical I would have lots of extra time.  It hasn’t worked out that way.  I’ve been traveling to various meetings and catching up on minor projects.  I think I’ll just post some pics with minimal commentary.

Above you’ll see the last insect images of the year, mostly from October.  Things cooled down quickly.  A few fungi.  Some reflections in Sugar Creek from our trip to Crawfordsville.  Some shots from our trip to Austin, as well.  It had been slow for photography.

Now that the eagles are back, and in a big way, I’ve been catching up.  I finally got one catching a fish right in front of me, along with plenty of follow-through shots.  I’ve been trying to get a shot like that for years.  Bob Benton was there too.
At the end of the year, Google took random samples of my images and assembled them into a brief video here:
I thought I could do better, and created my own to post on YouTube:
Another thing Google does via Picasa is to assemble bursts of images into brief animations.  With this method I’ve made some clips of eagles catching fish.  Here’s the best one:
2013 sure had its ups and downs.  Tomorrow I head for London.  It should be an interesting way to start off the New Year!
Leave a Reply

